I can hardly keep up with how angry I am starting to get with glbtq politics.  Whether it’s the story of a lesbian student being denied by her school the right to take her girlfriend to prom or it’s the same exact school suspending a student for trying to dress in the opposite gender’s clothing…I just don’t know how much I can take.  All this work is being done by lobbyists and activists to gain things like same-sex marriage, but how is that ending homphobia, transphobia, biphobia?  The idea of “well we understand it, so why don’t they?”  I don’t get… Fear and power operate pretty similarly.

You know how you can be a part of something and feel like there’s something terribly wrong with it?  I am absolutely having a problem, lately, with the “everyone is entitled to their own opinion” debate.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t have a problem with opinions…they are more or less harmless.  What bothers me is a lack of understanding of truths, or reason, of critical thought.  I mean, i couldn’t just be like…ok i guess i’m going to go kill myself today because tomorrow I’ll wake up…that’s my opinion…NO ONE WOULD BELIEVE ME. So why do we think that some parts of life just contain no truths?  Why are issues such as heteronormativity, racism, ableism, classism, etc. forced to the land of opinions by the people who DO NOT study them?  I would hardly tell a doctor that my opinion on the effects of a quadruple bypass surgery is higher or the same as his…that makes no sense.  Opinions are just that…but informed ones, educated ones, theories…they are something else.

At this point I could never imagine having children.  I would never want them to experience the level of hatred and injustice in the world.  People talk of change, of hope, of “progress”, but really…where are we?

